It’s that time of the year when we stuff our faces full of chocolate. Gluten free chocolate of course, and to make your Easter Egg hunting run a bit smoother I’ve compiled my annual guide. As always this article is only a guide and you must check the ingredients of everything you purchase for yourself. This is because ingredients and processes change constantly, what was safe one month, may not be safe the next. Additionally, just because a chocolate is safe in one size does not make it safe in another. This guide isn’t an exhaustive list either, there can be other easter eggs not featured that are safe. If you are new to learning label reading, may I suggest my quick guide to reading labels? Or you could take my gluten free label quiz.
A lot of the same eggs from last year are safe again this year. These easter eggs are gluten free by ingredient, a few do contain wheat glucose syrup, though, which is fine for a typical Coeliac. However, if you are allergic to parts of wheat, other than the gluten protein you may react to this sugar. Since I do react to wheat glucose I have minimized the eggs that contain wheat glucose. At the time of taking these photos, none of the featured eggs had may contain statements as they are not safe for anyone with Coeliac Disease.
Thankfully, a majority of the Cadbury Easter range is made in a separate facility to their blocks. That means that the bunnies and eggs are typically gluten free and without a may contain statement. The giant roses and almonds surprise eggs are also gluten free by ingredient. I posted some of these bunny egg ingredients last year for reference.
The hunting eggs in the 20 pack are also gluten free by ingredient with no may contain statement. Earlier this year I also found a marshmallow Easter bunny that could be purchased singularly or in a multipack. The mini flavoured eggs I have seen are also gluten free by ingredient in most cases but contain wheat glucose so I have not included them here. This range includes things like the Turkish delight, Salted Caramel and Caramello.
This year Kinder chocolate has gotten tricky and you must read the labels. Some of their mini eggs are being made in a factory that could possibly contaminate them. Therefore they are not safe. The hazelnut mini eggs are gluten free by ingredient, however, the plain ones are not safe.
The bunnies pictured here as well as the kinder eggs read as gluten free by ingredient with no may contain at the time of these photos.
These two have the surprise toys inside and are great fun. In fact, I get these most Easters. If you were curious the normal kinder surprises are also currently gluten free by ingredient as well. You’ll have to watch out for those new kinder eggs with biscuit pieces inside though.
Additionally, Kinder do hollow chocolates like their chocolate bunnies. So far I haven’t found one of their hollow ones with gluten but always check as they do have some filled with biscuit pieces. This year they have the blue bunny, pink bunny and a new posed blue bunny as well as the minis.
The hundreds and thousands egg I have only seen at Woolworths, so not sure if it is available at Coles. The nougat eggs had the same ingredients on both the blue and pink packets.
Lindt is a tricky one because almost all their chocolate contains barley malt extract. Which you probably know is a big no-no. Thankfully, Lindt has confirmed that they implement strict allergen protocol and we can trust their labelling. Which means that like last year, their giant egg in dark chocolate and some of their bunnies are gluten free by ingredient with no may contain statement.
The Red Tulip chocolates below are also gluten free by ingredient with no may contain statement. You’ll notice the miniature mixed eggs are both caramel and milk chocolate. The caramel mini eggs have wheat glucose in them.
Another strange find is the Milk Chocolate Ferrero Rocher bunny. When you think Ferrero Rocher, you generally think of biscuit pieces. This one though has no biscuit in it and is gluten free by ingredient with no may contain.
You will find all the eggs featured at stores like Woolworths, Coles, Big W, Kmart and Target. Again remember to check the ingredients when you purchase them to be sure they are safe.
Don’t forget to check out my post featuring the allergy-friendly eggs for 2018. This features dairy free, nut free, soy free and other requirements as well as gluten free. I thought I’d put them all in the same place to make it easier for you to find. Some of the brands included will be the Kinnerton, Sweet William and Moo Free products.
I hope you have a safe and gluten free Easter. Be sure to check out the hot cross bun reviews thatI’vee been posting over on my product review page.
For subscriber giveaways over Coeliac Awareness Week be sure to sign up for the newsletter.
Until Next Time;
Ashlee; The Aussie Coeliac.